'Hanna Wicklund & The Steppin' Stones'

South Carolinian-born Hannah Wicklund will release her third album “Hannah Wicklund & The Steppin’ Stones” on Strawberry Moon Records in the UK on Friday 13th September. The album was produced by Sadler Vaden, guitarist for Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit and received rave reviews when it was released in the US last year.


The 10-track self-released album was recorded in Nashville, TN and is a fresh take on Wicklund's musical influences drawn from '60s, '70s and '80s guitar-driven rock. "Once we started writing some songs, I saw that she had a real, raw talent," says Producer Vaden. "I was inspired to work with her by her love of classic rock music and blues. I wanted to honour that in making this album, but also add a little modern edge to it."


'Mama Said' has a staggered yet funky start, that leads into this commercial sounding tune with a great sing along chorus. Track five is 'On The Road', and has a really interesting sound vocally that works really well with this track musically.


'Crushin' starts with drums and Hannah's sultry bluesy vocals before we are treated to what can only be described as rock n roll with attitude. Looking forward to hearing this live. 

'Strawberry Moon' takes us into power ballad mode, and it is done very well indeed, followed by 'Too Close To You', which is an out and out rocker from start to finish, and needs to be played loud.

Penultimate track 'Meet You Again' is another that you can class as a sultry blues ballad with a fantastic sound and feel, before we end with 'Shadowboxes And Porcelain Faces', giving us a beautiful ballad that takes us through the digital social media age where reality can be lost.

We start this musical journey with a track called 'Bomb Through The Breeze' with a heavy dirty blues sound and a wonderfully addictive riff. Add some really aggressive sounding solo work, and you have a great opening to the album. Next up is 'Ghost', which has a much more controlled vibe both musically and vocally, but again builds nicely into the chorus.

Track three is 'Looking Glass' which has a really nice subtle and soulful feel, matched by some really nice vocals that work as the track lifts and falls, and you can almost feel yourself swaying along naturally.


Hannah Wicklung By Heather Koepp.jpg

Although this is the third album from Hanna Wicklund, this self titled one really does show all her abilities on one record. From soft and sultry, to dirty blues and full on rock, this has it all.

TFM gives 'Hanna Wicklund & The Steppin' Stones' 4/5, definitely one you need to check out this side of the pond when released next month, and catch her live as part of the Planet Rock Roadstars tour this October alongside Gorilla Riot and Piston.




Track list:-

1. 'Bomb Through The Breeze'

2. 'Ghost'

3. 'Looking Glass'

4. 'Mama Said'

5. 'On The Road'

6. 'Crushin'

7. 'Strawberry Moon'

8. 'Too Close To You'

9. 'Meet You Again'

10. 'Shadowboxes And Porcelain Faces'