Kris Barras Band

'Light It Up' Album Review


After the success of 'The Divine And Dirty' last year, the Kris Barras Band are back with a brand new album called 'Light It Up' and it is due for release on September 13th 2019. It is available to pre-order now and there are various bundles which can all be found here

We kick off this latest release with a track called 'What You Get'. It starts with a pounding kick drum, quickly joined by Kris and guitar before heading into a big chorus with wonderful backing vocals. A kick ass start that will grab your attention immediately. Next up is 'Broken Teeth', which is a full on rocker of a track from start to finish, with plenty of guitar and big choruses once again.




'Counterfeit People' has a great beat that just feels like a road trip track, and should be blaring out of the stereo as you go from state to state across the US. A great driving track. 'Let The River Run Through You' has a much more bluesy funky sound with some wonderful vocals, before a track titled 'Bullett',  which is just a very good modern blues rock track with great musicianship and vocals.

'Wound Up' is a high octane rockin' track, followed by 'What A Way To Go', which follows in the same vein, hi intensity rock n roll.

Penultimate track 'Not Fading', has probably has the heaviest start and guitar on the whole album, but it works great, and doesn't let up at all, before we finish with probably my favourite track on the album called 'Pride Is Forever'. It is a great way to end what is simply a fantastic album. This track deserves to be heard on the biggest of stages all around the world, and has a chorus that just lifts you and lifts you, fantastic.


The Kris Barras Band just keep going from strength to strength, and this latest album is no different. The addition of Phoebe Jane and Alex Hart out on the road has changed the dynamics of the live shows. The album sounds great with them on it, so long may that continue. It has 13 quality tracks that you will really enjoy, and no doubt be singing along to whenever you next see them on tour.

TFM gives 'Light It Up' 4.75/5, a must have purchase.

The Kris Barras Band are Kris Barras (guitar /vocals), Josiah J Manning (keyboard/Hammond/backing vocals), Elliott Blackler (bass/backing vocals), Will Beavis (drums), Alex Hart (backing vocals), Phoebe Jane (backing vocals).




'Vegas Son' is one of the songs that the band have played live over the last year. It has an uplifting beat, even though the lyrics don't always agree. This is followed by the first single to be released from the album called Ignite (Light It Up). It is getting plenty of airplay, and even made it onto Planet Rock's A list.

'6AM' is up next, and this is just a really cool upbeat rockin' tune that will have you hooked in no time. 'Rain' has a wonderful soulful start, almost country in places, before we hit a big chorus where Kris's vocals take the lead rather than his guitar, as they do throughout this wonderful sounding track.


Track list:-

1. 'What You Get'

2. 'Broken Teeth'

3. 'Vegas Son'

4. 'Ignite' (Light It Up)

5. '6AM'

6. 'Rain'

7. 'Counterfeit People'

8. 'Let The River Run Through You'

9. 'Bullett'

10. 'Wound Up'

11. 'What A Way To Go'

12. 'Not Fading'

13. 'Pride Is Forever'